Tags

, , , , ,

The Notebook.

A movie that calls for dark chocolate, strong coffee and seclusion. And a massive quantity of Kleenex. Last time I watched the Noah-Allie sage, I tore through a quarter of a box of tissue.

When the movie was released, I cried. But not until the credits rolled. I was hardened. I just broke my elbow. Unemployed – and pretty much emotionally dead.

I didn’t understand The Notebook hoopla. Boy meets girl. Boy gets girl. Boy loses girl. Boy can’t move on. Girl does. Boy becomes a jerk. Girl gets engaged. Boy builds house. Girl and boy make up. Two old people die together. Sad, but at the time, I didn’t find The Notebook tissue worthy. Often, it’s the mindset you’re in that affects your takeaway from a movie.

I received The Notebook for one of my birthdays so I gave it another go. By the end, I was a mess. A blubbering, tear-soaked, pajama-clad mess. Now, it’s my seclusion movie. I refuse to do the, “Hey, girls’ night! Let’s watch The-”

“No. Just … no.”

The last time I popped in The Notebook, I cried for 15 minutes after the credits rolled.
It’s not just the chemistry between Rachel McAdams and Ryan Gosling. Or the intertwining of an older Allie and Noah. It’s the heartbreaking storyline. It’s a Nicholas Sparks movie. You know there will be a happily ever after. But, ergo the problem.

In real life, not every love story has a HEA. For the rest of us, The Notebook quote from Fin seems more relatable:
But the line that kills me is Noah. Standing in the rain with Allie. Telling her that he wrote her every day. For a year. And it wasn’t over.

“It still isn’t over.”

But in real life?

We forget it’s a movie. Actors reciting lines. With strategic lights. Boom microphones. And we’re engrossed in the moment. The beauty. The fairytale ending.

And we forget to close our own notebooks.

 

