Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I feel like Emma.

She’s the main character in my book who returns to her hometown, and confronts her feelings with her on-again, off-again boyfriend, Adam, from high school.

Now, minus the latter, and that’s what happened six weeks ago.

I moved back to my hometown.

If someone told me when I started writing my book in February 2014, that’s I’d be editing it eight months later in a turn of the century house overlooking a river, they’d be unfriended on Facebook, unfollowed on Twitter, and disconnected on LinkedIn.

True be told, when I left my hometown years ago for the big city, it was in the back of my mind I’d return one day. When I was older.

And I guess, maybe I am.

When you return after experiencing other cities – and I’ve lived in a few – you learn to appreciate a small town. You see it through different eyes. That’s why I model the town in my book after my hometown. Businesses, homes, even the local Chinese food restaurant – though modified.

I do wonder if I moved back so I could be Emma. To let her see what I see. Remember what I do.

There’s a great quote: “Writing gives us a chance to taste life twice, in the moment, and in retrospect.”

And in that regard, I am Emma.

